Self-Care Tips & Links

Hey there and happy Friday! It’s my last Friday of break and it’s bittersweet. I’m excited to head back to school and start a new semester but I’m also sad not to have as much free time to just relax. I love having a schedule and structured days, but I think it’s good to change things up every once in awhile if it means some important relaxation time.

Today, I have self-care on the brain. I first heard the term self-care about 6-8 months ago. I thought at first it was some kinda hippy-feel-good-vibey thing. Silly me to jump to conclusions!

I’ve learned that self-care is actually more about taking care of yourself rather than being burned out all. the. time. It means taking a minute or an hour to pause: to watch Netflix, go on a walk, bake something delicious, journal, pray, etc. In a world where there’s a lot of bragplaining about how busy everyone is, self-care is desperately needed. I think we’re meant for more than mechanically just getting by and always feeling exhausted.

Here are three things I’ve learned about self-care:

It’s not something to feel guilty about. Taking 20 minutes of every day to write in a journal, read a book, or watch an episode of your favorite T.V. show isn’t unproductive. It’s rejuvenating. It’s necessary to prevent yourself from burning out. And sometimes you’ll only need 10 minutes a day to do this, other days you’ll need 3 hours because the day has gone poorly. Either is okay.

You need to figure out what self-care is to you, because it’s probably going to be different for you than your neighbor. For me, I always feel way more centered and peaceful when I take some time to pray, journal, and read God’s Word. I don’t do this every day, but it’s something I at least make an effort to do. I also feel rejuvenated and refreshed when I go on a run, read a good book, or color. For some of my friends, it means doing yoga, or playing an instrument, or watching the Bachelor, or getting a pedicure. Whatever it is, don’t feel ashamed for taking a break from the things you have to do to take a few to care for your soul. Everyone must rest.

Sometimes you don’t have time for even 10 minutes to yourself. But there are small things you can do. For example, let’s say you have a commute that you have to do on top of a crazy busy day that is filled from morning to evening. Use that commute to listen to a favorite playlist of your favorite songs, or an audiobook. Have to rush out the door early and mornings are rough? Buy some good coffee to make for yourself. Small things can make a positive impact on your day.

I’ve found some really great links from around the inter webs that are filled with some great tips and tricks for practicing self-care. Check them out!

DIY Self-Care Box!!! (LOVE this idea)

Reading a good book is self-care!

That’s all for today. Hope you have a wonderful weekend, full of self-care and rest!

How do you practice self-care? 

Read any good books lately?

Favorite snack (I need inspiration!)?

8 thoughts on “Self-Care Tips & Links

  1. Polyglot Jot says:

    I love this! I’ve been trying to be more mindful of this the past year or so and it has made a big difference in my stress level and overall calm. Thanks for these great ideas! Good luck on your first day back!

    Like

  2. katalysthealth says:

    I love this. Self-care is something that I am REALLY trying to get better at this year. I’m literally just SO bad at it! Thanks for this great list of ideas!

    Like

    • lifeofendurance says:

      Self care is never a waste of time! Even when I’m tempted to think that it is a waste of time, I try to remember that it makes me a better person who is more productive and able to better interact with others.

      Like

  3. Lyss says:

    I love coloring or journaling. Two of m fav ways of giving myself some love and care! fav snack right now: popcorn mixed with nuts !! or perfect bars and some fruit 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

