Books to Read in 2017

Hello and hope you had a Merry Christmas! Mine was lovely and I enjoyed some wonderful time with family, received some wonderful and thoughtful gifts, and enjoyed some wonderful food and delicious desserts. I’m currently wearing one of my gifts, aka the most comfortable sweatshirt/fleece ever. I want to live in this thing 🙂

I’ve been seeing a lot of blog posts lately about goals for the New Year. One of my goals in this next year is to read more. Reading is one of those hobbies I’ve had forever, but in the past few years I haven’t been doing much of it. Between reading for school, the busy-ness that is college, and all the other things that have been going on in life, reading just fell to the back burner. I started reading again over summer, and then over this winter break. So, long story short (see what I did there?), 2017 is the year I am planning on getting back to reading!

I’m thinking of doing the 2017 Reading Challenge from Modern Mrs. Darcy. I love that it isn’t based on number of books but on reading goals.

Here area few of my picks that I’m excited to read this next year!

Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov. A bunch of my friends and I will be reading this and discussing in January, so this is first on the list!

a4f941dee82ced4b29cc890a72bde55c

Emma by Jane Austen. I’ve picked this book up and started reading it and never finished, so it’s time to close the loop.

2c28b65275e923ecc6194085e00a6bdc

The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath. I keep hearing about this book, it’s a classic, time for me to read!

0f9418538d42ddb7fa23ab12a70b2d66

Yes Please! by Amy Poehler. Amy Poehler is hilarious, and it’s about time for me to read a biography again.

d18423ac404eb1f61837d929bc1ce3b5

All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr. I’ve heard some amazing things about this book, my mom highly recommends it, and she has some good taste in books so I can’t wait!

54d9e14e26111af3c168523153cbb763

Bel Canto by Ann Patchett. I read a short passage of this when I was studying for my AP English exam back during my senior year. I was really intrigued by it, so I think reading the whole thing should be really fun!

6a065978b433e82c4493b70b228cb8e1

The Undoing Project by Michael Lewis. This book is about two Israeli scientists who founded the study of behavioral economics. I’ve seen it recommended on many different lists, and I love a good friendship/academic true-story mashup!

f48d33570b0f5a2928ab598b0d78906e

Small Admissions by Amy Poeppel. I saw this pop up on Pinterest and it sparked my interest with the cover. It’s the story of a woman who lands a job doing admissions at an exclusive prep school, and dealing with the kids and parents who desperately want to go there. Looks like a fun read!

c251058ab18ddd7d9a8f79b83ed7253c

The Secret History by Donna Tartt. A thriller, mixing secret societies and ancient history; seems like a page-turner!

c70e775a41a0b75b263fd0c7db73bcab

Old Possum’s Book of Practical Cats by T.S. Eliot. I’ve seen the musical Cats and it’s really great, and really strange all at the same time. It’s based on this book of poems, and I’ve never read an entire book of poetry, so this seems like a good first choice!

c160bb68c42b1618596f7d20a56a02d9

 

What do you want to read in 2017?

Favorite books?

Any book suggestions?

 

4 thoughts on “Books to Read in 2017

Leave a Reply

