WIAW and Day in the Life

Hello and Happy Wednesday! First off, go over to A Dancer’s Live-It and check out Marina’s Warrior Women Wednesday post! I’m so excited to be featured. I’ve been following this awesome series for awhile now, so I’m beyond honored to be featured.

carolinerocky

Probably my favorite picture in the feature

On a different note, I thought I’d bring back What I Ate Wednesday. I haven’t done one in a long time, and I also am doing a little day in the life post. I’ve never done one but I always love seeing other people do them. Here goes!

6:45AM: First alarm goes off. I had planned to go on a run this morning before class. Then I realized it was still dark outside and running alone in the dark is a no go for me. I snooze for another half hour!

7:15AM: Actually wake up, do morning routine and get dressed, scroll through social media for a bit.

7:45AM: I woke up HUNGRY this morning. Like the hungry where I’m worried someone will talk to me thereby preventing me from getting to the kitchen. I exaggerate (not really). I made myself some scrambled eggs with mushrooms and cheese, and some sourdough toast with avocado. Pumpkin spice coffee on the side of course. I also scrolled through blogs.

img_1150

8:45AM: Spend some time journaling and praying. I haven’t taken more than 5 minutes to do this sort of thing in a long time but I realized it left me feeling way more centered and relaxed so note to self, do this more.

9:20AM: My dear, lovely roommate suggests we leave a few minutes early before class (we both have a 9:30) to grab coffee at Wawa. She didn’t have to ask me twice, despite the fact that I’d already had some. 20 oz of coffee for $1.50 that also tastes great? YES.

I just have to give a shoutout to my roommate right now. She’s even more of a morning person than I am (homegirl wakes up naturally at 5:30) but by 7:30 when I’m feeling social, she is too! A lot of my friends don’t want to talk to anyone at that hour, especially an almost obnoxiously perky person like me. So shoutout to you roomy! You know who you are 😉

9:30-10:50AM: Go to my Religion and War class. This is one of my favorite classes I’ve taken so far in my college career thus far. So interesting!

11:00AM: Do some Mathematical Biology homework. This is another one of my favorite classes. It’s so hard but so rewarding.

12:00PM: Grab a quick lunch at a dining hall before my next class. This was turkey + cheddar + lettuce, tomato, cucumber + mustard on whole wheat sub roll. Got my salt and vinnies on the side, an apple, plus some unsweetened iced tea.

img_1151

12:30-1:50PM: Evolutionary biology class! Usually I’m sleepy during this class since I eat lunch before it but I actually stayed awake today! My professor usually gives us a short break halfway through the class which is SO appreciated. Mostly because I just want to go to the restroom without climbing over a row of people.

2:30PM: I’ve walked home, changed, and I’m off on a 5 mile run. The weather was ideal but I was feeling kind of tired. Note to self: figure out if I’m getting enough iron.

3:15PM: Get home, shower, get dressed, do hair. I never do my hair but I actually blow-dried it today. I admit it does look better when I try but usually I don’t have the patience. Oh well. Eat a KIND breakfast bar because breakfast is a state of mind.

img_1154

4:00PM: Find and talk to some friends for about a half hour. Midday talk breaks with people need to be a part of my life more often.

4:30PM: More homework. More mathematical bio.

5:45PM: Grab dinner to go before I go to work. My dining hall food is…ehhhh. I eat a lot of sandwiches because a lot of the food isn’t really appealing to me. Good thing I love sandwiches. This was avocado + turkey + provolone + tomatoes on focaccia. I also had some broccoli and these tomatoes that had parm on them I think? Debatable but pretty good. The one thing my dining hall does well are their homemade potato chips, especially the ranch kind. I don’t even like ranch but I like these chips!

img_1155

6:00PM: Work time! I work in the advancement department at my school. My coworkers are awesome so I never really mind going to my shifts.

9:30PM: Done with work, walk home, and start working on this post. I’m also enjoying a nice warm cup of tea.

10:45PM: BED!!!

Looking over this day: it was a good one. A good mix of social and productive. But also I’m sometimes hard on myself and beat myself up over not getting enough done. But then I look at days like this and realize I need to be a little easier on myself. I do actually get quite a lot done. Always remember that. You are doing enough, you are enough. Treat yourself well and with love today.

I’m also happy that I ate chips twice today. Chips used to be a fear food and now, eating them without guilt just because I crave them is so awesome. It sounds really simple, but it’s something I try not to forget because it’s so wonderful.

Linking up with the WIAW crew (Arman and Laura)!

 

14 thoughts on “WIAW and Day in the Life

  1. Emily Swanson says:

    YES! I love how you ate one of the fear foods twice, not just once. 🙂 That sandwich you had for dinner looks really nourishing and delicious.

    I totally agree that taking time to spend in God’s Word and praying and journaling in the morning is so important. ❤

    Like

    • lifeofendurance says:

      It actually was a great sandwich! I don’t think you can go wrong when there’s both avocado and cheese involved!
      Spending time with the Word is a great way for me to feel way more centered, I just love it!

      Like

  2. Lyss says:

    seeing you up on Marina’s blog literally made my morning… I love you girl and I’m so happy you got featured!!

    Sandwiches are the best. They are one of the things I eat most in college- turkey sandwiches, peanut butter and jelly sandwiches, hummus sandwiches or wraps! All my go-to’s.

    I love ending my day with a hot cup of tea too. I tried this decaf lotus blossom tea that I am in love with! Hope you have a wonderful day babe ❤

    Like

    • lifeofendurance says:

      Thank you so much Lyss! You are such a big inspiration to me so you saying that means so, so much!
      I haven’t had a PB&J in way too long. Mostly because I keep forgetting to buy jelly. But they are the absolute BEST!!!
      That tea sounds fantastic! I’ll have to find that. Also decaf at night is a really good plan.
      Have a wonderful day and much love as always to you ❤

      Like

  3. Joyce @ The Hungry Caterpillar says:

    Congrats on being featured for WWW! It’s nice to get to know a new face in our little blogging community.
    Looks like a delicious day of eats. I empathize that eating in a dining hall does get pretty monotonous sometimes–although homemade chips sound pretty delicious.
    “Breakfast is a state of mind”=love it!

    Like

    • lifeofendurance says:

      It’s so nice to “meet” you Joyce, thanks for stopping by!
      Dining hall food gets boring but then it makes going home all the better. Whenever I go home, my family tries to make a bunch of my favorites. I also love cooking in a familiar kitchen 🙂
      I love breakfast so much, I’m literally willing to eat it at any time of the day haha!

      Like

    • lifeofendurance says:

      The tomatoes were actually quite good! I’d never seen anything like it, but it ended up having kind of a pizza-ish flavor that I liked. Navigating the dining halls is like a strategic game where you have to figure out the hidden gems. Melty sandwiches are so great on these crisp fall days!

      Like

  4. Mack says:

    I am so excited to have found your blog. I love it, and I love your genuine nature that comes through your words! Your day reminds me a whole lot of my college years. Thanks for sharing with us- I loved reading. And it is sooo good your recognize the importance of extending yourself grace. It took me far to long to recognize the freedom that comes with that. ❤

    Like

  5. kmcgrail18 says:

    Oh how I don’t miss dining hall food! i ate so much fruit, salads, and sandwiches too. I wish I would have picked a school with better food lol! Yay for challenging your food fears!

    Like

Leave a Reply

