Week in Review/Workout Recap

Hello! Happy Monday to you! I had a pretty packed week so let’s review what I’ve been up to lately, as well as the interesting (to me) topic that is my marathon training.

Richmond Marathon Training

Monday included 4.25 miles. It was ridiculously hot out, like 80 degrees. Yes, it’s October. I’ve decided that weather in Virginia is overall really nice but also really random. One day it’s 80 degrees and sunny and literally overnight it will become 50 degrees. Figuring out what to wear is difficult because an outfit that works in the morning might not work in the afternoon. That’s what workout clothes are for, right?

Tuesday was a nice little unplanned rest day for me. I had an almost entirely free afternoon, with class ending around 1:45 and work not starting until 6, so I took advantage of some gorgeous weather and sat outside drinking iced coffee at one of my favorite coffee shops. Reading blogs, doing some writing…So good for my soul.

Wednesday included 6 miles. It was really hot again. Lots of sweat (again). Wednesday included a cake date with my roommate and it was spectacular. I wish I’d taken a picture of my chocolate strawberry cake. It was as good as it sounds. That night I also got a call over whether or not I got a little sister in my sorority. I was so nervous but it worked out better than I could ever have imagined. I’m worried that they’ll somehow find this blog so I’m going to stay quiet on this one for now, but expect more on it later!

On Thursday I had my sorority’s philanthropy event. It was a really fun event filled with baked goods, s’mores, and lots of musical acts. I was responsible for organizing/booking a bunch of on-campus singers and a cappella acts. It turned out to be really great, and one of my friends did a lovely Taylor Swift medley and even I (not at all a huge Taylor Swift fan) LOVED IT.

img_1131

Friday involved a 3.75 mile run. I couldn’t handle anything more. But it was followed with grocery shopping at TJ’s (my favorite place), and a dinner with three of my best friends that I haven’t seen in forever. It was so fun to just hang out with them and catch up and enjoy a good meal. I also had to go to a dance performance for one of my classes and it was spectacular. Wow, I could go on and on about the spectacular choreography, but dance is so visual that I don’t think I could describe it and do it any justice!

On Saturday, I participated in an Alzheimer’s Walk. There’s a really great story behind this! My dear friend Kate lost her father a few years ago to early onset Alzheimer’s. For her 21st birthday, a large group of her friends and I decided to donate funding to Alzheimer’s research and participate in the local walk. The initial goal was to raise $2100 but we far surpassed it. This event was so moving and I feel so blessed that I was able to walk with her and in her father’s memory. She is one of the most inspiring and amazing people I know.

img_1146

I spent the rest of Saturday doing homework, going to work at my on-campus job, and doing some crafting for my little’s clue week! Crafting is one of my favorite relaxing activities.

5dae28ac-9b99-4dbc-9e7d-653e408178a2

Sunday was supposed to include 18 miles. Didn’t happen. Only 10 happened because my body couldn’t fathom running 18 miles. I ended up sleeping in later. Usually I love doing my long runs and spring out of bed ready. Not today. So I listened to that. Also when I read “only 10” I want to roll my eyes! 10 is still a lot and only us crazy runners underestimate our accomplishments like that. The rest of the day included work, dinner with one of my best friends, and mass.

It was a busy week but definitely a good one. My training wasn’t what I wanted it to be, but hey, my plan is to just finish the marathon. The friendship time I had this week was excellent and I’m so thankful for that.

Linking up with Megan for Week in Review!

Highlight of your week?

Yes or no to Taylor Swift music?

Best thing you’ve eaten this past week?

6 thoughts on “Week in Review/Workout Recap

  1. Patricia @Sweet and Strong says:

    I’m not a marathon runner, but my sister is running the Marine Core Marathon this weekend, so I kind of understand the ‘only 10’ and all the crazy training that goes into it. And what a nice way for your friends to come together and celebrate your friends 21st birthday. I’m sure it meant so much to have all of your support and she felt her dad looking down. Have a great week!

    Like

    • lifeofendurance says:

      I feel like a lot of us tend to downgrade our fitness accomplishments but from an outsider it’s really impressive. I am not a strength training superstar AT ALL so I’m always most impressed by other women who lift super heavy weights!

      Like

  2. Ellie says:

    I love yelling Taylor Swift when I am alone in the car. Actually, when I was seriously sleep deprived and driving in a downpour at midnight once (don’t ask) screaming her songs was seriously the only thing keeping me awake =P
    I totally get scraping a long run. Take care of your body, and it will get you to the starting line 🙂

    Like

    • lifeofendurance says:

      Haha that is quite an interesting story…I feel like you briefly mentioned that in one of your race recaps. I’ve done the same thing while driving except it was musical theater songs.
      Thanks for your encouragement Ellie! It means a lot because I see you as this amazing runner so if you say I’ll be okay, I feel like I can listen to that 🙂

      Like

  3. Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets says:

    I wish you had gotten a picture of that chocolate strawberry cake too. Some of my favorite flavors.

    Also, I almost rolled my eyes at the ‘only’ 10 miles part so I’m glad you did too. Ha. You had a kick ass week workout wise and so much fun with your sorority.

    Thanks for linking up.

    Like

  4. lifeofendurance says:

    The cake was just amazing. I’m working on getting better at photographing all the pretty sweets I eat, but it’s so hard because they’re all so delicious that it’s hard to delay those 10 extra seconds!
    It was a really good week, looking back always makes me thankful!
    Thanks as always for hosting the link-up and letting me long-form think!

    Like

Leave a Reply

