I’m Back!/Month in Review

Hello, hello, hello! It feels like it’s been forever. That’s because it has basically been forever, or at least a month.

I finally have a weekend where things are busy, but not the hectic, filled with work and commitments kind of busy. The past month has literally been non-stop, but also filled with lots of exciting things. I thought I’d give a little monthly recap to catch you up on why I’ve been so absent. I really have missed blogging. Both sitting down to write my own material and also reading friends’ and other blogs. It made me realize just how community based the Internet can actually be.

Let’s get down to it, shall we?

August 15th, I moved in to school. August 16th, I started training to be one of my school’s Orientation Aides. Orientation Aides (OAs for short) are the students that guide all the freshman and transfer students through orientation, make them feel welcome in the community, and just get them mentally prepared for all aspects of college life. I had to go through a long interview process to get the position, and I was so thankful that I was chosen. The students arrived on August 19th, and I was up ready and early to greet them. There was a LOT of cheering and dancing, and it was so awesome!

fullsizerender

I and two other OAs were assigned to a girls section of a freshman residence hall. These girls were amazing. We had many discussions as a group on many sensitive and serious topics, and they were so incredibly insightful, respectful, and astute. They were also just so fun to be around and get to know, and to see them grow so much and become close to each other in the span of a week. It’s also really humbling that they saw me as someone that they could trust and look to for guidance. I still see many of the girls around campus and it’s amazing to be greeted with smiles, waves, and sometimes hugs!

One of the most amazing things? A lot of the girls were runners, so we had something really great to talk about right off the bat! One of the girls and I got to chatting and I ended up telling her how I was running the Richmond Marathon. She told me that she wanted to run a half marathon someday. Later that week she invited me into her room to show me her computer screen, which had the registration confirmation for the Richmond Half Marathon! I am SO excited about this!

img_0947

Speaking of running, marathon training has been going pretty well! During orientation, I was up early and went to bed late (think 6am-12am kind of days). Running just wasn’t in the cards. And I really didn’t even have time to think about it because I was so busy. Once as classes started, I got more into a rhythm of morning runs. And then sorority recruitment happened. It was a doozy. It is truly exciting to meet so many amazing women and welcome many new people into my sorority, but it was an exhausting process. Especially as an introvert, spending about 8 hours of a day being surrounded by people and talking left me absolutely drained. Now that recruitment is over, running is much more regular.

img_1048

I actually did my longest distance yet this past Saturday! 14 miles! The sense of accomplishment was unreal and it’s making me really excited to run in about 8 weeks. A time goal really isn’t a thing for me right now, but I love fall running weather and being outside. I’m also getting used to training with fuel and luckily I’ve found that the Clif shot blocks are working pretty well (thank goodness, since I bought a bunch and I’m cheap and I will not spend money on fuel unless I’m out of it). In the past I used to feel guilt if I couldn’t fit in my training runs. Now, whenever I miss one because life happens, I end up just feeling thankful that running will always be there for me to go back to when I can.

Other things…

Food wise, I’ve been enjoying some amazing eats lately! Now that I have a kitchen, I really have been cooking more. Especially breakfast, my favorite meal. Most mornings consist of many oatmeal varieties. Oats + almond milk + peanut butter + mix-ins (fruit, chia, granola, etc). Also lots of eggy-veggie scrambles. I’ve gone on two Trader Joe’s runs in the past month and I’m happy that it’s one of the cheaper grocery options in my area because oh my goodness I could buy up that whole store. Now that they have all the pumpkin/fall related items there it’s even more difficult to resist.

img_1058

Classes are going well! I’m in Intro Physics, Mathematical Biology, Intermediate Statistics for Scientists, Evolution of Organisms, Religion & War in America, and a dance class. The math/science classes I’m in are for my major (Biological Applied Math & Statistics) and the other class is for my history minor and it is SO interesting. As a STEM major, I don’t have that many discussion based classes, so history challenges and intrigues me in new ways! The workload has been really heavy but I’m getting through it.

Also, I’m not sure if I’ve ever mentioned this, but I danced all my life until high school, but then made a point to pick it back up in college. This semester I’m dancing for a student choreographer who is working towards her dance minor. It’s involved modern dance (something I didn’t start until college), a lot of improv (something I’m starting to love), and vocalizing while dancing (weird but fun). I’ll hopefully share more about it in the future!

Things I’m currently working on: figuring out a way to blog more often (I miss it like crazy), making more time for prayer and self-care, learning to be more gentle towards myself, and finding more ways to incorporate plant-based meals. I don’t anticipate becoming vegan but I would love to find more ways to eat plant-based and figuring out how that would affect my running.

This post is crazy long, but thanks for sticking by me during all this time. I truly appreciate it and can’t wait to interact more and catch up on everything I’ve been missing.

Highlight of your last month?

Favorite thing about fall?

Anything you’d like to share?

2 thoughts on “I’m Back!/Month in Review

  1. Lyss says:

    so great to hear from you! Sounds like life is going well. SO busy, but also filled with tons of great things! I’m glad you’re classes are going well, and that you’re picking up dancing again! Hope you are having a great start to your week love ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

