WIAW #6: Last Week at Home Eats

I’m amazed that it’s the last full week of me being home for the summer. Though the time seems to have gone quickly, it also feels like it’s been a long time since I came home in May. It’s been pretty great, I really should do a whole review of summer (add that to the ever-growing to-do list…).

One thing I’ll miss when I get back to school is the quality of food that I have at home. Yes, my meal plan is very convenient to have, but I do love cooking for myself. I also have much  more say in what I eat when I’m at home. Sometimes the dining halls simply don’t have what I’m craving or I don’t happen to have those ingredients in my mini fridge…Suffice to say I’m going to miss some of the good eats I’ve been having at home.

So here’s my last hurrah WIAW for my summer-at-home eats! Thanks to Laura, Arman, and Jenn for hosting!

Today’s post isn’t going to be as word-heavy since I’m writing this the night before I’m going to NYC for the day! I’m waking up bright and early to catch a bus and I’m going to see a show before getting back late at night. I’m so excited, and can’t wait to tell you about it and recap it.

Okay, on to the eats!

IMG_0819

Lunch: Sub roll with mozzarella, tomato, basil, and chicken + Cape cod chips + apple + square of my sister’s peanut butter chocolate bars (vegan too!).

Snack: Post-run honey nut cheerios + almond milk

IMG_0839

Dinner: Prosciutto wrapped chicken with basil + Caprese salad + asparagus + unpictured baguette and berries

 

That’s all for today folks!

Best thing you ate yesterday?

Ever seen a Broadway show?

Are you on/have you ever been on a meal plan?

14 thoughts on “WIAW #6: Last Week at Home Eats

  1. Emily Swanson says:

    I think that that might be one of the hardest things for me if I went to college, because my stomach is kind of sensitive when it comes to certain eats, so it does really well at home thankfully. I would love to see more of your college eats and how you do that while doing school!

    Like

    • lifeofendurance says:

      I definitely have that problem sometimes. I’ll eat something from a dining hall and then get stomach pain that leaves me scratching my head! I’ll definitely be doing some WIAWs when I’m back at school because my eats look pretty different!

      Like

    • lifeofendurance says:

      It took me until I was writing the post to realize that I basically ate the same things for lunch and dinner! But honestly, tomato + basil + mozzarella is so good that I don’t mind eating it multiple times a day!

      Like

  2. Lyss says:

    i’m going to miss cooking and my kitchen when i’m at school 😦 but the meal plan is convenient like you said!! that breakfast looks sooo good. And I love honey nut cheerios- such a classic! Have a great day girly 🙂

    Like

    • lifeofendurance says:

      Aren’t Honey Nut Cheerios so great? I almost never eat cereal for breakfast but it’s one of my favorite snacks. I’m hoping to do more cooking this year (not hard since I did none last year) but we’ll see how it goes…

      Liked by 1 person

  3. sweetandstrongblog says:

    UH dining hall meal plans were the WORST! I was so excited junior year when we decided to rent a house and we had a full kitchen. But enjoy the convince while you can I guess. Your dinner looks amazing, that’s such a perfect combo!

    Like

    • lifeofendurance says:

      I really just don’t like a lot of the food that is offered…and I’m not even a picky eater. Mostly just flavorless or stuff I’m not in the mood for. I’m hoping to eat that same meal at school since it was actually really simple to make. I have much more kitchen access this year so it’s a possibility!

      Like

    • lifeofendurance says:

      Whenever I’m not in my own kitchen I feel a little bit disoriented! I’ll be looking for things and it’s just a mess. Thanks Liz, I’ll definitely be enjoying this last week as much as I can!

      Like

  4. Ellie says:

    The best thing I ate today was a bagel sandwich with avocado and toffuiti (vegan cream cheese). I have never seen a Broadway show! Can you believe it?! I want to so badly!!
    I felt like dining hall food all sort of tasted the same? Is that weird?

    Like

    • lifeofendurance says:

      That sounds absolutely delicious! Honestly you can never go wrong when bagels and avocados are involved. And I agree with you – everything tastes kind of similar and it all blends together after awhile in the dining halls. Not much flavor to be found…

      Like

  5. mylittletablespoon says:

    Feeling RIGHT with you about the end of summer thing. I mean we each got home at the beginning of May… that’s four months ago… how can it feel so long and so short at the same time? And yes I definitely get you on the food being the part to miss most. I will dearly miss a full fridge and things like real cheese…
    That breakfast though. Holy Yum.
    What show are you seeing?? Safe travels!

    Like

    • lifeofendurance says:

      Isn’t time so weird? And yes, I too will miss my real cheese and all my baking supplies. At home it’s easy to just pull out all the flour, baking powder, vanilla, etc. but at school I’ll have to start from scratch.
      I saw the revival of CATS! It was amazing!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

