Week (Month?) in Review #3

Hey ya’ll and happy Monday! I’m writing this post sitting at a Starbucks on a gorgeous sunny afternoon. I fully intended to do a Friday Favorites/Top 3 Friday post last week but it just didn’t happen. Luckily, Meghan has gifted us with the Week in Review linkup which allows me to hash out all my accomplishments (loosely applied term, mind you) for the past week. Actually, this is going to be a Week in Review/month in review/currently post, all rolled into one. Let’s see how this goes…

Last week was great because I saw friends 3 separate times! I love, love, love socializing with friends, but being the introvert I am, making plans and getting out can seem pretty tiring sometimes. However, I’m always happy when I actually follow through.

First, I saw two of my dear friends on Tuesday night. My friend Mary and I got Mexican food, and then we met our friend Matt for some ice cream. If you follow me on Instagram, the occasion was documented there. Basically, it was wonderful, the night was beautiful, and these two make my heart so happy and full. Also, they are 200-hour certified yoga instructors (and they’re still full-time students!). I always ask them tons of questions about yoga but they seem to love me anyway.

IMG_0758

I saw my two best friends from high school on Thursday night. We got dinner at Panera (we used to do this in high school alll the timeee) and then went bowling. It was so awesome to catch up with them about life, since we don’t see each other often because we go to three different schools. It was amazing for me to see how we were able to pick up right where we left off. Having people that you can totally be yourself with, who just seem to get you, and who you can tell absolutely anything to is such a blessing. Also, I am not excellent at bowling in the very least but we had a lot of fun doing that!

On Friday, I saw about 8 of my sorority sisters that live in my area. They are all such wonderful, strong, inspirational, and supportive women and I’m so lucky to have each and every one of them in my life. We enjoyed some lovely Mexican food and each other’s company. Sidenote: the restaurant had this chocolate pinata dessert that was basically a chocolate orb filled with fruit. Totally mesmerizing to see someone break it open…

One of the highs from the month of July was an ENTIRE month of free coffee from Panera. Yes, that’s right, I got one free coffee, every single day of July. There is a Panera right next to my metro stop so I would go in, grab my coffee, and get on the train. By the time I got to my office, my coffee was at perfect drinking temperature. I sure am going to miss it, but it was awesome while it lasted.

IMG_0760

Me before coffee = tired but excited

Running has also gone really well both this past week and in the past month. No injuries, and I feel like I’m starting to feel good in my runs and like I’m going to be strong and ready for my marathon come November. After a bit of a rocky start with regards to training, I feel like I’m finally getting into a groove. Last week’s runs were as follows:

  • Monday: 6 treadmill miles, done at a easy-ish effort. I had a towel on the screen the whole time, and the miles flew by. Note to self: do this in the future. I listened to the Happiness Hour podcast, the episode about 10 things to improve body image. Awesome, awesome, awesome. My overall pace was an average of 8:53 which I was very pleased with!
  • Wednesday: 3 miles, 8:51 pace. I didn’t think I’d get a run in today, but I had a little extra time so I squeezed a short one in. Short runs are still awesome!
  • Thursday: 5.5 miles, 9:42 pace. It was ridiculously hot and humid out, so my easy effort was slower. Listened to the Runner’s Connect podcast, which I love.
  • Saturday: 12 morning miles, 9:45 pace. Awesome, awesome run. I felt really strong almost the whole time. Probably because I used gummy bears as mid-run fuel. Listened to a super inspiring episode of the Rich Roll podcast!
  • Total of 26.5 miles!

I’ve gotten a lot of reading done lately…currently reading “One Hundred Years of Solitude” by Gabriel Garcia Marquez (weird but enjoyable). I also finished 3 other books: “Anna Karenina”, “Stealing Athena”, and “Mr. Penumbra’s 24 Hour Bookstore.” I’m hoping to do a book review post because I mostly just love discussing literature!

Some winning eats of the week:

Choclate chip oatmeal cookie dough ice cream: yes, it was everything.

Georgetown Cupcake vanilla cupcake at work! What a fun treat!

Carnitas nachos (I think I finally like queso) from District Taco

Kale caesar salad from Sweetgreen

Wow that was like a dump truck of words that came tumbling out, but a lot seems to have happened lately…thanks for sticking around for this long.

Favorite ice cream flavor? Probably peanut butter chocolate for me!

Queso: yay or nay? This was the first time I’ve ever liked queso, so District Taco was a win in my book!

Something fun you did last week/last weekend? I love hearing about all the awesome and fun things going on in everyone’s life!

 

 

14 thoughts on “Week (Month?) in Review #3

  1. Lyss says:

    Yay for time with friends!! So fun. And so cool your friends are so into yoga! Good job with all that mileage girl- you are doing awesome 🙂 My favorite ice cream flavor is chocolate chip cookie dough!!This weekend I went on a church retreat and it was so amazing and life-changing! ❤ Have a great Monday girly!

    Like

    • lifeofendurance says:

      I can’t wait to hear more about your retreat! So glad it was so great for you! And chocolate chip cookie dough is SO good. I love cookie dough of all types (especially oatmeal cookie dough) in ice cream or plain!

      Like

  2. Emma Sapio says:

    Omg – I have always wanted to try Georgetown Cupcakes, so jealous! My favorite ice cream is cake batter and queso is bomb 🙂 I spent my weekend at the beach, so I’m a happy camper!

    Like

    • lifeofendurance says:

      Georgetown Cupcake is SO good! The lines get insane which makes ordering ahead a must. Cake batter ice cream is so good. I actually had some yesterday! Ooh the beach…I haven’t made it to the beach this summer and I need to fix that! Thanks for stopping by, Emma, can’t wait to check out your blog!

      Like

  3. Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets says:

    Queso is one of life’s greatest pleasures, at least in my book. It’s all things cheesy. Mmm, I’m salivating just thinking about it. Of course, I wouldn’t turn down ice cream either. I’m not sure I could pick a favorite although Butter Pecan, Coffee, and Mint Chocolate Chip are up there on the list.

    An entire free month of coffee would be lovely.

    Happy Monday and thanks for linking up.

    Like

    • lifeofendurance says:

      I’m pretty picky about my queso…nothing out of a jar, please. I’m a big fan of coffee ice cream and coffee in general but honestly you can’t go wrong with any of those 3 flavors! Thanks for hosting the linkup as always Meghan!

      Like

  4. Ellie says:

    Hearing about your book reading makes me jealous! I haven’t read in a while because I got addicted to Lost…and now I’m doing school work. I’m sure I’ll pick it up again soon, the new Harry Potter book came out so…
    My favorite ice cream flavor is probably sea salt caramel 🙂

    Like

    • lifeofendurance says:

      I don’t read much (okay, at all) during the school year, so summer is my time to get my reading fill in before the schoolwork starts piling up. Ooh I have to read the new Harry Potter book. My little sister just got hers in the mail so I’m planning on borrowing it when she’s through!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Beauty in Christ (@Emily11949309) says:

    Oooh, I love peanut butter and chocolate ice cream. And you got a good solid week of running in. I’m almost craving longer distances again, but I’m still in the process of restoration after ED, so I think the Lord is teaching me patience. It’s so good for me. And I love how, even though you are more of an introvert, you got out there and spent so much good time with precious friends. ❤

    Like

    • lifeofendurance says:

      I believe that running will always be there for you, whenever you decide if/when to go back to it. I took quite a bit of time off from running any considerable distance and it was so good for me, taught me a lot, and made me truly appreciate it for how it could serve me. Patience is so important, so good for you for listening to the Lord and your intuition!

      Like

  6. Julia @ Drops of Jules says:

    FREE coffee? For a MONTH? How did you make this happen?! Please enlighten me on your magic powers. I’ll be curious to hear your thoughts on Mr. Penumbra’s 24 Hour Bookstore! I read that last summer and I’ve been itching for someone to chat with about it. 🙂 Random but, that book has one of my favorite covers ever. I just love the illustration of it for whatever reason ahah. And, chocolate chip oatmeal cookie dough ice cream? That does sound like everything. I’m now on a mission to find a place near me that has that.

    Favorite ice cream flavor: chocolate or cake batter
    Queso: big yay!
    Something fun I did last week: go get greek food with my dad! It was a simple father/daughter date that was well needed. 🙂

    Like

    • lifeofendurance says:

      Honestly I think all the good I’ve done in this life culminated in that month of free coffee haha!
      I’m definitely going to send you an email about it, because I definitely want to discuss it with someone (also Anna Karenina). Basically we should just discuss literature a lot. 🙂 The cover of the book was gorgeous and I realized that the back of the book actually glowed in the dark. How cool is that?!?
      Mmm…now I’m craving some cake batter ice cream!
      Thanks for stopping by Julia! Love that you’re back and posting more lovely content as always! xoxo

      Like

Leave a Reply

