Marathon Update and Week in Review

Hey there! Hope you had a great weekend.

It’s Monday so it’s time for a little Week in Review, so I’ll be linking up with the fabulous Meghan!

This week, it’s Marathon Edition!

Marathon training has been…interesting. As in with a crazy work schedule, vacation, and life in general, sticking to the “plan” has been a little difficult. Basically, I ran when I could. I’m not one for getting 5 hours of sleep just to get a run in. I know that in order to run my best, I need to take care of my overall health. I also created my training plan knowing that this was likely to happen. By giving myself about 22 weeks to train (rather than say, 16), I knew that if things didn’t go perfectly at the beginning, I still would have plenty of time to get back on track.

Luckily, the crazy work schedule is settling down quite a bit, and I finish up my summer job pretty soon! This past week has also not been as insane, resulting in…me getting all my workouts in! I wasn’t really stressed before, but I do feel a little more reassurance that I can (mostly) stick to a plan, and keep up with my training.

On to the miles I logged!

Richmond Marathon Training

Sunday: 6 miles on the treadmill

I had planned on doing a long run early in the morning, but that just didn’t happen. I was babysitting on Saturday night and didn’t end up getting home until really late. Going to bed at 1AM and an early morning run just don’t mix for me. So, I slept in. It was also scorching hot outside, but I was still in the mood for a run, so I went to the gym and did 6 treadmill miles.

I really don’t mind the treadmill that much. It takes some getting used to, but I’ve come up with some ways to actually kind of enjoy it. I basically played with the speed, with my last 3 miles faster than the first 3.

Monday: 5 miles speedwork on the treadmill

In some ways I think speedwork is easier on the treadmill because I know exactly what pace I’m going at and how soon I’ll be done. My workout went as follows:

  • 1.5 mile warm-up
  • 400 m @ 7:30min/mile x 8 with .10 mile jog between
  • 1 mile cooldown

I did about 20 minutes of yoga that evening which felt great! I love Lesley Fightmaster’s YouTube channel and I did her Mellow Flow which was super yummy.

Tuesday & Wednesday

No running but 30 more minutes of yoga with Lesley FIghtmaster each night! Felt nice and I think it helped stretch out my sore hamstring (which is doing way better by the way!).

Thursday: 6 easy miles at a 10min/mile pace

I talked about this run in my last post, but it was just awesome! I listened to the Happiness Hour Podcast, kept it slow, and felt superb!

Friday: Total Rest!

I did help out my brother with some dogsitting which meant I got to take a cute pup on a walk which was pretty fun!

Saturday: 10 miles

I woke up bright and early because temps were forecast to be a high of 97. When I started it was already 77. Eek!

The first 7 miles went really well. I ran on a trail that took me into the Georgetown area of D.C. which was so beautiful in the morning sunlight. I had to cross one bridge and I had the most gorgeous view of the sparkling Potomac River and the horizon. Views like that make any run worth it!

One great thing about D.C. is how many other runners there are. Because of that, there are a ton of running stores in the area. One of them had a table at a busy area where a bunch of trails intersect and they were offering water, Nuun, and gels, absolutely free! I was fueling with just gatorade and water (heat + chewing doesn’t work so well for me), but I grabbed some Nuun. Not my favorite but I thought it was so awesome that they were offering all sorts of things.

The last 3 miles were tough. A lot was uphill, my GPS seemed off, and it was getting hot. But I persevered!

Total: 

4 days of running, total of 27 miles. I also got 3 short yoga sessions in! Hooray!

And that’s a wrap! Enjoy your week, and have the best Monday ever!

Do you live in an area with a lot of runners/cyclers/cool outdoor sport community?

Treadmills (and gym equipment in general)…yea or nay?

Most fun thing you did this weekend?

8 thoughts on “Marathon Update and Week in Review

  1. Lyss says:

    You did awesome with your running this week! Sometimes I do prefer treadmills over running outside, but I do love running on a track and track workouts. My favorite activity will forever be yoga. So good for the mind and body! Have a lovely monday girly!!

    Like

    • lifeofendurance says:

      Thanks girl! I’ve actually started to like the treadmill…for me, running makes me so happy that I’d rather get a treadmill run than no run. And track workouts always make me feel like a badass! Yoga is one of my favorites, mostly because it just forces me to quiet myself and just observe where my body is in the present moment. Enjoy your week pretty lady!

      Like

  2. Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets says:

    Congratulations on getting those workouts in despite a busy schedule. I love how you incorporate so much yoga into your training. It’s one of my favorite exercises and it’s been far too long since I’ve done it. Hopefully I’ll get to a class this weekend.

    Happy Monday and thanks for linking up.

    Like

    • lifeofendurance says:

      Thanks Meghan! Yoga is one of my favorites too. I just love how calm I feel afterwards (that is, if I’m not interrupted by one of my siblings…). The mental benefits are what keep my coming back. I hope you get to enjoy a class this weekend, you deserve some you time!

      Like

  3. Ellie says:

    Treadmills were how I trained for my first marathon. The pacing is on point and it protected me from the insane winters we have here in NY. My community is pretty fitness minded. Now with Pokémon GO I even see people in the early mornings when I run. It’s kind of fun!

    Like

    • lifeofendurance says:

      It always comforts me to know that really good and fast runners like yourself use treadmills to train! I can only imagine what winters must be like in NY…I’m in Virginia which doesn’t get horribly cold weather but the humidity + heat in the summer can be a killer. That’s so awesome about Pokemon Go, I haven’t gotten into the craze yet but it always makes me happier to see lots of people outdoors!

      Like

  4. Evangeline Kennedy says:

    A marathon! That’s so awesome! I definitely want to run one when I’m a little older, maybe in college…

    I have the Appalachian Trail pretty close to my house, so there are definitely a large number of runners and hikers in the area, which is pretty great. I love seeing other runners or hikers on my run. It’s like a little boost of encouragement that someone else is out there suffering too 🙂
    With that said, I’m not a fan of the treadmill, but it comes in handy when it’s super hot or super cold.

    The most fun thing I did this weekend was spending some much needed girl time with friends I haven’t seen for a while. That always makes my heart very happy 🙂

    Like

    • lifeofendurance says:

      I ran my first half when I was still in high school, and made it a goal of mine to run one in college. I honestly feel like I have more time to train now as a college student than I did as a high school student!
      Also, I was just hiking the Appalachian Trail two weeks ago. It’s a gorgeous area, but girl, those hills in the area are KILLER!
      Hooray for girl time, there is nothing like it!
      Thanks for stopping by Evangeline, can’t wait to check out your blog!

      Like

Leave a Reply

