Top 3 Friday #2

Happy Friday! I’ve actually been excited to write today’s post for awhile, just because things have kept happening this week where I think “hooray! Can’t wait to include this in my Friday faves!!!” It’s honestly such a great feeling to have!

I think I can attribute it to feeling rested and renewed after a week away. I was feeling a little sticky in the inspiration and motivation department, so I’m thankful to feel like I have my drive and excitement for work and hobbies back!

Anyhoo, let’s just jump right into it shall we?

Linking up with Kate for Top 3 Friday and Heather for Friday Favorites!

Top 3 Eats:

Funny story, I ate a lot of delicious things this week, but took no pictures (consequently don’t really remember much about said eats)! Oops!

I ate a beignet that was lovely! Here’s a pic (not mine) of what it looked like:

20120702-212958-bayoubakery-beignet-main

I’ll work on actually getting pictures of my food next week!

Top 3 Highs:

  1. Getting a haircut! I always feel more me when I get my hair cut. I wore my hair really long for awhile, (because that’s what everyone did at my high school..great reason to do something, huh?) even though I’d liked having it shorter. Then last summer came and I was like time to cut it! It always feels great to have it fresh and short again!

    Haircut

    You can’t see my full haircut but look at that puppy (babysitting perks!)

  2. Awesome run on Thursday. I had 0ne of those runs that was just awesome. It was an easy run at about a 10 minute pace, but my body felt great, I was listening to the Happiness Hour podcast (thanks to Marina for letting me know it existed), and I just felt so full and happy. Runs like this remind me why I love the sport so much, and how much fulfillment it can bring to me.
  3. Seeing my dear friend Mary. My friend Mary texted me last week saying she’d be in my area for a few hours because she was accompanying her dad on a work trip. She lives pretty far away, so I was so, so excited to see her (after not seeing her for about 2 months). We had an awesome lunch, caught up on life, laughed a ton, and it was simply wonderful. She means so much to me and it was so great to spend even an hour with her. JPEG image-468D29A37EA8-1

Top 3 Lows:

  1. Some pain in my hamstring. My left hamstring has been acting up a bit. I’ve never had a running injury (knock on wood!), so I was a little worried about it. Thanks to some yoga and trying to take it pretty easy, it seems to be getting better, and doesn’t bother me at all when running. Hopefully this is the last you’ll hear of it!
  2. Jolty metro trains/bus giving me nausea. I commute via the metro which is just…an experience and a half on a regular day. There always seem to be trains breaking down so sometimes the one I’m on just pauses randomly. And some bus drivers just seem to enjoy taking passengers on rather adventurous bus rides home…oh well. All the joltiness doesn’t fare too well on my stomach. I’d say this is more of an annoyance than a low though!
  3. Can’t really think of another low so I’m not going to!

Top 3 Reads/Listens:

  1. The Happiness Hour Podcast. I started listening to this podcast this week and absolutely LOVE it. Episode 2 on relationships  and 3 on confidence had some info that was really interesting and pertinent to me. I’d highly recommend if you don’t already listen (also I feel like I’m friends with Hayley and Jen already…they’re awesome!)
  2. “Proof” Isn’t Always the Answer. A Dancer’s Live-It. Marina’s message really hit home for me!
  3. I’m DNS-ing My Next Race {and I’m Happy About It}. This Runner’s Recpies. I really appreciate Laura’s honesty and how she’s honoring herself and her body.

Top 3 Instagrams:

IMG_0731

IMG_0732

IMG_0734

And that’s it! Hope you have a wonderful weekend!

Tell me:

Highlight of your week?

Favorite podcasts?

Fun plans for the weekend?

12 thoughts on “Top 3 Friday #2

  1. Kate Bennett says:

    Sally’s peanut butter pie looks SO good! I definitely want to make that soon.
    I’m sorry about your hamstring. I am experiencing calve muscle pain that is new to me. I hope you have a restful weekend!

    Like

    • lifeofendurance says:

      I absolutely love all of Sally’s recipes…seriously everything I’ve tried of hers is tasty! My hamstring seems to be doing a bit better today so I’m hopeful and thankful. Enjoy your weekend Kate!

      Like

  2. Sarah says:

    I hope your hamstring feels better! Loving that quote from Maddy Moon, she really knows her stuff 😉 Have a great weekend girl!

    Like

  3. Lyss says:

    Hoping your hamstring feels better ASAP! Love the happiness hour podcast! Also love maddy moon’s 🙂 And the recovery warrior’s one! I always forget to take pics of my food but it does sound like you had some yummy stuff! Hope you have a lovely weekend Caroline!! Oh- and you are rockin the short hair. xoxo ❤

    Like

    • lifeofendurance says:

      Thanks girly, the hammy seems to be doing better today! I’ve just recently gotten into podcasts so I’m excited to check some of the ones you mentioned out. And thanks for the compliment on the hair, you’re so sweet! xo

      Like

  4. Ellie says:

    I have a billion favorite podcasts! Try The Rich Roll podcast, Running on Om, No Meat Athlete and Still Buffering. They are great! Sounds like you had quite the breakthrough run this week. Congratulations!

    Like

    • lifeofendurance says:

      Ooh can’t wait to try a bunch of those, thanks for the suggestions! Podcasts make any run better. And ahhh the breakthrough run was awesome and just reminded me why I put myself through it, you know? Have a great weekend, Ellie!

      Like

  5. Marina says:

    Omg we definitely are on the same page with Sally’s pie lol! Thank you SO much for including my post in this!! 🙂 I’m so happy I found your blog! Here’s hoping your hamstring doesn’t act up anymore! Xoxo

    Like

    • lifeofendurance says:

      I think I have drooled over every single one of Sally’s recipes…and I’ve tried so many of them! And I was so happy to include your post, and am so appreciative of how you share your voice and express such honesty. Hope you have a lovely weekend and an amazing week (even though it’s going to be busy!!!)! xoxo

      Like

  6. mylittletablespoon says:

    I really got into podcasts last year and love having them on as I am cleaning around the house or cooking. I’m always looking for something new though, so I’ll be checking this one out absolutely!
    Really hope your leg pain subsides really soon… that’s always such a bummer to live through. But yay for your friend date! No better way to brighten your mood then that, I say.
    Oh – and I love it when someone can’t think of a third “low.” 🙂

    Like

    • lifeofendurance says:

      My leg is doing way better, thank you for your well wishes! And friend dates are my absolute favorite thing…whether it’s coffee, lunch, a walk around, spending time with friends will always be the best. And I agree, whenever I see that someone can’t come up with a third low, it makes me happier to know that they had an extra good week! Have a lovely rest of your weekend Cora!

      Like

Leave a Reply

