Week In Review #2 (Vacation Recap!)

Hello! It feels good to be back. I spent the past week away in the mountains enjoying some lovely vacation time with my family. If you read my last post, you’re aware that my access to wifi/the internet/blogging was pretty limited. Also, I think WordPress is getting kinda funky on me…but I’m saving that problem for another day. I was hoping to use my time off to get to spend some of my time off brainstorming and writing posts, but lack of Internet made that a bit difficult. However, I feel rejuvenated after a week away from a lot of social media and am ready to get my creative juices flowing. Getting away from my daily life and routine always helps me reset and renew, something that I’m very thankful for.

Anyhoo, I just spent the past week in Shenandoah National Park. I wasn’t really sure what to expect since I’d never been there before. Let me tell you, I was overwhelmed by the beauty of it all. And the weather! We were blessed with the most gorgeous week of weather. In the D.C. area, it’s been hot and humid. Instead of that weather, I experienced temperatures in the mid 60s – mid 80s and about 0% humidity. Basically the most ideal weather possible. Weather aside, I was surrounded by the most gorgeous scenery. Blue mountains, cotton-ball cloud skies, lush green trees, and the most perfect sunsets. I honestly could spend hours just standing and staring at all the lovely scenery. Photos don’t even begin to do it justice!

IMG_6531IMG_6510

While on our trip, my family did a lot of hiking! Shenandoah National Park has tons of trails, of varying levels of difficulty. I’m used to running, so I thought hiking would be a breeze. Jokes! Hiking is LEGIT ya’ll. Rocky uphills and steep downhills really challenged me, but it’s easy to quickly see rewards for all the hard work! I saw some gorgeous panorama views and a really cool waterfall!

Hiker

My vacation was also chock full of animal friends too! I went horseback riding for the first time, and discovered how sweet and patient horses can be. I also got to see 5(!!!) black bears including a baby bear with its mama. It was a little to close for comfort for me, but it sure was a cute site to see! I also saw a beaver in a tiny stream (didn’t see his dam though…) as well as a mother duck and her ducklings! Seeing all the animals in their natural habitats just brings me so much joy!

Ducklings

My family also explored Luray Caverns which was a fun time! It definitely felt like a tourist location…with gift shops aplenty and green screen photo ops, which wasn’t exactly my cup of tea. However, the caverns themselves were gorgeous. It’s amazing to hear about how the rocks and structures within the caves formed.

IMG_0708

Despite being pleasantly busy for a good part of the week, I also had plenty of downtime. I went on one run, and oof…the hills got me in the best way. I also got to read a book, journal, watch some fun T.V., play some card games…just really fun, relaxing, and enjoying being in my family’s company as well as being alone. To me, I had the perfect mix on this trip, of alone time and together time, of activity and rest.

My weekend has been full of unpacking, laundry, and all sorts of other random tasks like organizing my athletic clothing drawer, a trip to the grocery store, and a haircut too! I’m feeling pretty rested and excited to face the upcoming week though!

Wishing you the best Monday ever!

Do you like vacations to be complete rest, filled with activity, or a mix of both?

Favorite baby animal?

Best part of your weekend?

Linking up with Meghan for Week in Review!

8 thoughts on “Week In Review #2 (Vacation Recap!)

  1. Lyss says:

    Sounds like such a fun trip Caroline! I love being by the mountains, I find it so peaceful. And not having technology for the week is always good in my opinion. Running hills is so hard! You definitely feel it the next day haha. I love vacations with a mix of a little activity and rest! ๐Ÿ™‚ Have a great monday!!

    Like

    • lifeofendurance says:

      Thanks Lyss! Even if it’s just for a weekend, getting away from home/work/other commitments is always so good for my soul. Enjoy the rest of your day too, and loved your post this morning!

      Like

  2. Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets says:

    What a wonderful family vacation. Those sights are amazing, and I bet the cave stuff was super cool. The ducklings are adorable, and I wish I could see some black bears. I love hiking too, although it’s been far too long since I’ve done one.

    I went on a family vacation last week too, and the remnants are strewn all across the first floor of my house. Hopefully I’ll get to putting stuff away this week, maybe even today if I’m really lucky.

    Like

    • lifeofendurance says:

      Hiking is tough as is, and I think having a little one would make it an extra-challenging workout. I remember going for hikes with my family, when my sister was about 18 months, and my dad would carry her in a baby backpack thing. She loved it, but looking back I doubt I would be able to carry a kid on my back up hills and for miles! Good luck with all the unpacking too. It’s a challenge but feels so awesome when it’s over!

      Like

    • lifeofendurance says:

      I take rest very seriously ๐Ÿ˜‰ OMG lion cubs!!! They are absolutely adorable. I think I would be in absolute heaven if I was put in a room with a bunch of baby animals. Puppies, kittens, lions, bears…too cute!

      Like

  3. Ellie says:

    I make all my vacations into run-cations because I can only afford like 2 a year (and only a weekend or 4 days each) The last two have been Ragnar relays with my racing team, so exhausting, but I love every minute.
    My favorite baby animal is a pig ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • lifeofendurance says:

      Ooh runcations sound awesome, even if they’re short! I’m so lucky that my parents were able to provide the opportunity for the whole family to get out of town. I would love to do a Ragnar relay eventually. Your recap of your last Ragnar was so cool!

      Like

Leave a Reply

