Thinking Out Loud #1 – Where Am I Going?

Hey everyone! It’s been a bit since I’ve last posted. I’ve been pretty busy with work and other appointments, plans, commitments, etc. I’m glad to have a few minutes now to just sit and write.

I’m thankful to Amanda for the opportunity to just Think Out Loud today. That’s exactly what I want to do right now.

Truth be told, some of the reason why I haven’t written in forever (aka a little more than a week) is that I’ve had literally no inspiration. Usually I have something to write about or that I’m thinking about, but lately I’ve been drawing a blank. Last night, I just wasn’t in the mood to open my computer after staring at a screen all day at work so I didn’t, and read a book instead. No regrets hear! In general, if I feel like I have nothing worth sharing, I don’t write a post just to do it.

That brings me to my thoughts on why people blog…for me I like getting to interact with others and learn more about them. It gives me an outlet to talk about running and all the million random things I like to talk about without boring my whole family to tears. I strive for authenticity and I’d rather post less than post something that I don’t really like.

Saying all of this makes me think about the direction I want to go with blogging. I’ve only been at it for a few months now. I’ve been reading and seeing so many posts lately about how to grow your blog, how to go self-hosted, how to grow your followings on social media… and when I read these, I just realize that I’m not ready for any of that. I know of so many bloggers who are very happy with self-hosting, monetizing their blog, and are awesome and organized when it comes to the variety and timing of posts. I’m realizing that for now, that’s not really the path I want to take. This may eventually change as my life changes, but I’m content with where I am now.

Right now, I like that I don’t put pressure on myself to get posts out there if I’m not really feeling like it. Not feeling like I have to put top-notch photos in my posts because I need to draw sponsors and droolworthy Instagrams. There are so many areas of my life that I put a lot of pressure on myself to do well in. And I’ve decided that blogging just isn’t going to be one of them. I like the stumbling aspect, because in every other circumstance, I want to know exactly what is going on. I’m a numbers person, but getting to just barf up words like this sometimes is exactly what I need.

And I’m not saying that I don’t want people to read my blog. On the contrary, of course I want readers. I love the possibility that maybe something I say or think is resonating with someone else or helping them in some way. Blogging is an awesome way to find friends and people who want to have discussions on so many crazy interesting topics…

I meant to think out loud about a bunch of different things, but it looks like thoughts on my relationship with blogging and myself ended up happening. I’m cool with that! I actually love reading about how people start blogging, what keeps them going, and what their goals/hopes/dreams are, so hopefully you share some of your thoughts on blogging with me!

What motivates you to write?

How did you start your blog and why?

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Thinking Out Loud #1 – Where Am I Going?

  1. Ellie says:

    I totally resonate with this. I just went self-hosted a few months ago and got the cheapest package basically because I wanted sharing things and keeping all my account synced to my easier. I don’t make money blogging, it’s a hobby. I told myself if I ever felt like it was a burden I would stop. If I am drawing a blank, I don’t blog.
    For me, it’s fun so I will continue to do it until it stops being fun 🙂

    Like

    • lifeofendurance says:

      I love that! That’s my goal too – keep going until it stops being fun, enjoyable, and the outlet I hope it to be. I do think self-hosting does help with making things a little more streamlined so it’s definitely not out of the question for me in the future!

      Like

  2. Lyss says:

    I don’t make money blogging and simply blog just because I love to write and connect with others! I totally get where you are coming from and support you in whatever you do! I will miss your writing though and hearing about your life. You are an awesome gal Caroline ❤

    Like

    • lifeofendurance says:

      Aww thanks so much! I’m going to continue writing because I love it, and I love the interaction with others (like you!). I’ve just decided there is going to be no guilt if I don’t write as much because ain’t nobody got time for that! Have a lovely week Lyss! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

