WIAW #4: Packed Lunch Edition

Happy Wednesday! I’m glad we’re halfway through the week because the weekend can’t come soon enough…

I’ve had a lot of good eats recently, so I’m excited to share a whole day’s worth of some yummys! For my last WIAW, I shared a day that was less structured. Meaning, I didn’t have work that day, so I got to eat most of my meals at home/with others.

This week’s eats are a little different. They involve a day where I’m commuting into and out of the city, and spend most of my day at the office. I’m kind of a fan of my packed lunches that I bring with me to work. I hate packing them, but then I’m always happy when I have a meal ready and I don’t have to buy my meals (because that gets expensive really fast…)

Without further ado, WIAW Packed Lunch Edition!

My day started around 7:15. I’m usually a frenzied mess in the morning, but the idea of skipping breakfast is entirely ludicrous to me. Like, how could I not eat a nourishing meal that makes me tummy happy? I digress… Today was an oatmeal day! Oatmeal is one of my all-time favorite breakfasts. This oatmeal was cooked in the microwave (because it’s quick and less dishes #priorities), but I cooked it in milk and stirred cocoa powder in so it was lovely and creamy and chocolatey. Topped with PB and strawberries! Water, coffee, and OJ on the side!

IMG_0600

I mentioned this in my Top 3 Friday post last week, but I got a free donut!!! I wasn’t particularly hungry (I’d just finished breakfast after all) but I snatched it up to snack on later. This maple and bacon donut was the perfect mid-morning snack with a cup of coffee!

IMG_0601

Lunch was around 1PM (actually my favorite time to eat lunch!). I was very proud of myself for packing a lunch. I’d cooked a bunch of lentils, so I made an impromptu lentil salad the night before with some veggies and a lemon olive oil vinagrette, and I was very pleased with how it turned out! Crackers, hummus, and an apple on the side! I got to eat outside too, which works wonders for my mind!

IMG_0602

Snacktime was mid-afternoon. I’m a big fan of sweet potatoes, so when my coworker told me there were some sweet potato chips around, I was all about it. My tummy thanked me too. Note that I was half done before I remembered to take a pic! I had some sparkling water which was nice and refreshing too!

IMG_0603

Dinner was around 7:30 after I got home from work. My lovely mom made a delicious home-cooked meal of pot roast and carrots, and my sister whipped up some lovely mashed potatoes. Comfort food at its finest!

IMG_0604

Aaaannnddd that’s about it! I finished up the evening with some reading and Netflix before crashing to get some rest before I had to be back at it for work the next day!

Busy and tiring day, but the good eats definitely brightened it up a bit!

Have a wonderful Wednesday, friends!

What’s your favorite comfort food dish?Β 

Best type of donut?

Thanks to Jenn, Arman, and Laura for the WIAW link-up!

5 thoughts on “WIAW #4: Packed Lunch Edition

  1. Lyss says:

    Your oats look so good! Great idea to add cocoa powder in! And yay for free food too- can never pass that up. I don’t like packing lunches or dinners either for work, but it def does save on money. Those mashed potatoes look so good too. Have a great day Caroline!

    Like

  2. Jordan says:

    I’ve never thought of stirring cocoa powder into my oats…great idea!! I usually pack my lunches too, much cheaper and you know what’s in there. I want that donut…yummy!

    Like

  3. Ellie says:

    My favorite comfort food is definitely rice or potatoes. I’ve been hitting the potatoes hard lately, so that would be my weapon of choice today. The best donut is the strawberry frosted with rainbow sprinkles πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

