Friday Five – Running & Fitness Faves

Happy Friday!!! Hope you’ve had a nice week.

You may or may not be aware that I’m really, really into running. Actually, you’re probably aware. I go through seasons with running where I’m totally obsessed and it’s basically the only fitness-related activity that you’ll find me doing, and other times where it’s one of the many activities that I enjoy doing.

Right now, with summer, my obsession with running is going strong. I am loving all of my runs lately. Wearing shorts and tank tops and sweating beats wearing leggings and ear warmers and coats any day in my book.

I wanted to share with you my 5 favorite go-to running items, especially ones that I’ve found recently and/or are perfect for summer! Let me know if you have any suggestions too, because I love trying new gear and new things!

 

Screen Shot 2016-06-07 at 9.50.40 PM

These headbands are my fave and go-to. And they are actually super cheap. Like $5 for all 3! I have always struggled with finding headbands that work for me. Usually they slip off and I end up wrapping them around my wrist. These have literally nothing fancy or special about them, but somehow they work. Also my hair looks better after my run (code for I wait an obscenely long amount of time before showering) which is another plus! Find them here.

Chi tank from Athleta. I bought this recently, and have already worn it three times. It was on sale, too! Ridiculously comfortable (code for I go up to my friends and family and ask them to feel how soft it is). It’s been really great for summer runs, as it does not chafe, wicks away moisture, and feels super light. This is my new favorite running top! Find here.

Screen Shot 2016-06-07 at 9.59.31 PM

Rarely do I see an item of clothing and think I HAVE TO HAVE THAT! But this was one of those few times where I literally grabbed them off the rack and knew these leggings were made for me. The wide waistband is awesome for starters. I don’t constantly have to pull them up and adjust. They have a hint of compression, too, which is a feature I really like in a legging. BUT, they’re still super light, so you can wear them for your summer runs without wanting to die. The mesh is super fashionable (in my opinion) so I look cool when I do my workouts (that might be a stretch). More importantly, the mesh is great because it breathes. Also, all my coworkers at Athleta have bought these leggings, too, so it’s not just me who thinks they’re great!  Find here.

Screen Shot 2016-06-07 at 9.57.24 PM

By now, you have probably noticed that I really recommend Athleta. Yes, I work there, but I’m not paid to endorse it or get any commission, or revenue, etc. I just really like all the products! These shorts are another one of my favorites though. There’s an awesome little back zippy pocket, where you can stash your keys and gels. They also don’t ride up in the upper thigh/crotch area which has been a huge problem for me in the past, as it leads to chafing and misery.  Super breathable, don’t get stinky fast, my new go-to running short. Find here.

Screen Shot 2016-06-07 at 10.01.26 PM

In full disclosure, this is not the exact hat I use. But it’s pretty similar. It’s a Nike golf hat. No, I don’t play golf, I just wear golf-appropriate hats on my runs. Hats keep me cool and happy in the summer, and they also make my dermatologist scold me less, and my family worry less about my safety. Also, keeping the blinding sun out of my face is quite refreshing. Sun safety my friends! Find here.

Screen Shot 2016-06-07 at 10.09.52 PM

What’s your favorite running item?

Do you have a go-to store/brand where you get all your workout clothes?

Hats while running – yea or nay?

Today I am linking up with Courtney over at Eat Pray Run D.C., Mar over at Mar on the Run, and Cynthia over at You Signed Up for What for Friday Five. Go over and check out everyone else’s Friday Five, because you’ll be in for a treat!

 

11 thoughts on “Friday Five – Running & Fitness Faves

  1. Haley says:

    I must always wear a hat or visor. My dermatologist highly recommends the hat to protect my face and scalp from sun exposure.
    I too love Athleta. They have some super cute gear. I just bought a bathing suit from them two weeks ago. It’s my new favorite.

    Like

    • lifeofendurance says:

      I never really thought about protecting my scalp from sun exposure, but I’m glad you brought that up, since it’s pretty darn important! Athleta does have some cute bathing suits, I’ve been meaning to try a bunch on, but haven’t gotten around to it yet. Glad you found something you liked!

      Like

  2. Lyss says:

    I hate when my shorts ride up my crotch area. I have been having such a hard time finding a pair that don’t! Thanks for the recommendations. I want to look into buying those shorts. I love Athleta because it is a bit cheaper than Lu lu lemon. Those leggings are so cute too. Have a great Friday girly!!

    Like

    • lifeofendurance says:

      Ugh shorts riding up between my legs is the bane of my existence so I’m probably WAY overexcited about shorts that don’t. And it is true, Athleta is a bit cheaper than Lululemon, and I also love the company’s commitment to body positivity and no body shaming!

      Like

  3. Janelle @ Run With No Regrets says:

    These are some really cute pieces, I love the bright colors! I really don’t have a ton of items that I LOVE to wear on my runs, I’m more about being functional.

    Like

    • lifeofendurance says:

      I agree, functionality is my #1 concern with all my workout gear. I don’t care how cute it is, if it doesn’t work, I’m not interested. But bonus points for when something is functional AND cute! 🙂

      Like

  4. Ellie says:

    I have worn hats a couple times while running, but unless I wear them backwards, they fly off. I cannot for the life of me to get them to stay on! I do love headbands though. I have a large selection of them now. The best ones are the ones with grips underneath to not slide 🙂

    Like

  5. Emma @ myfullfatlife says:

    I *must* run in a hat, even in winter. It just feels perfect. I used to wear sunglasses but I felt them on my nose and ears and much prefer the shade of a hat. Also if you’re running down a shady trail you don’t need to adjust at all.

    Hmm those shorts do look nice, but I have always had major rubbing issues and stick to tight shorts in the 5-7 in range.

    Like

Leave a Reply

