WIAW #3 – Settling into Summer & Life Lately

Hey guys and Happy Wednesday! I’m glad we’ve made it halfway through the week. I feel like it’s been awhile since I’ve done a WIAW post, so let me bring that back.

I feel like my days this summer follow two very different patterns. On one hand, I have a job that I go to 3 days a week, and it’s very much a 9-5 kind of situation. On the days that I go to that job, my eats and habits are very different from the other type of day I have. On the days that I’m not commuting into the office, I’m either off or working at my other job, at Athleta (which I absolutely love, by the way).

I find the contrast between these types of days really interesting. I like the structure of going to a traditional office job, but I love the freedom of my other days off. This day of eats is from last Thursday, an off day for me. I wasn’t even scheduled to work at Athleta so this entire day was pretty much free for me to do whatever I wanted!

The day started waaayyy later for me than it usually does. I’m usually awake and about at the latest by 8:30 (usually more like 7:30) in the morning, but I slept in til 9:30ish. It always feels a little off when I wake up at this hour, but I’m pretty sure my body just needed the sleep!

I wasn’t very hungry this morning, so I didn’t really feel like cooking anything. I went with some PB&J toast and some blueberries and blackberries. The raspberry jam on that toast is ah-mazing, and lately I can’t get enough. This really hit the spot. Of course, unpictured, are the 2.5 cups of coffee that I consumed, and barely visible is a glass of milk.

IMG_0573

I was hungry about 2 hours later, so I snacked on an apple while I read. Something I’ve been enjoying a lot lately is reading, now that I have a little more time to do it. Reading and snacking is basically the ideal way to spend a morning for me.

IMG_0574

Lunch was a lot of fun today! My younger sister and mom both had the days off from school and work, and the three of us were in the house at the same time, which is pretty rare. We went out for a girls lunch together, at one of my favorite restaurants in the D.C. area, Cassatt’s. I had a bowl of the butternut squash soup which was fab, and then split a roast beef panini with caramelized onions and some other great stuff with my mom. Such a satisfying meal! The little bit of Asian slaw on the side was great too, I’m going to have to find a recipe for it, so I can recreate at home!

The afternoon was filled with carting my siblings around to various activities (seriously, they are busy kids), and then I went on a lovely six mile run that afternoon and goodness me, was it hot and humid out. This is kind of embarrassing, but I walked my sweaty self into a McDonald’s on the way back home and asked for a cup for water, which they graciously gave me. I then proceeded to continue running with a cup of McDonald’s water in my hand…yeah a little strange looking, I agree. The people dropping their kids off at soccer practice who were giving me strange looks probably thought so too. Honestly though, my runs have just been so amazing lately that I don’t care. I’m planning on starting marathon training soon (stay tuned for a post on that), so these less structured runs in the warm air and sunshine have been so wonderful and a huge blessing to me.

It was my night to make dinner for the fam, and I went with an old standby, a parmesan chicken, mushroom, and rice skillet. This was one of the first meals that I learned to cook all by myself, so it has a special place in my heart. Also it is delicious, pretty healthy, and my whole family likes it (not an easy feat). As I made dinner I snacked on some carrots, radishes, and hummus.

IMG_0578

This is a picture of the skillet, but I also enjoyed some steamed zucchini and French baguette on the side. Not pictured is the birthday cake leftovers that I had for dessert! My sister made a gorgeous homemade funfetti cake (that’s right, no box) with pink (the best color) frosting. So delicious!

 

IMG_0580

And that’s a wrap. Stay tuned for next week where I do a WIAW for one of my more regularly structured office days!

Thanks Jenn, Laura, and Arman for hosting WIAW! Check out the other entries too!

Best thing you’ve eaten this past week…go!

What was the first meal you learned to cook?

Favorite birthday dessert?

11 thoughts on “WIAW #3 – Settling into Summer & Life Lately

  1. Beauty in Christ (@Emily11949309) says:

    So I totally love that you went into the McD’s to ask for water after a wonderful run! πŸ™‚ Also that lunch looks really filling and hearty. πŸ™‚ And I am so inspired by how balance and yummy and intuitive your eats are.

    I know what you mean about ‘unstructured days’ vs. structured days. They both have their pros and cons. I guess that’s why I kind of like working at home, but that sometimes means that I procrastinate too much.

    What was the first meal you learned to cook?

    SPAGHETTI! πŸ™‚ I still love it so much.

    Favorite birthday dessert?

    Pie and icecream! I love dutch apple pie.

    Like

    • lifeofendurance says:

      Thank you so much Emily! It’s taken a lot of effort to learn to really eat intuitively, but it’s a skill that I’m getting way better at! Unstructured days can be kind of tricky because I almost don’t know what to do with all the time! And dutch apple pie?!? Yum! Now I’m craving some warm pie and ice cream!

      Like

  2. Ellie says:

    My favorite birthday dessert will now be PB & Cookies Ben and Jerrys ice cream, but a funfetti cupcake always makes me smile too πŸ™‚ The best thing I’ve eaten this week is rocky road banana ice cream!

    Like

  3. Lyss says:

    PB and J toast is something that you can never go wrong with! So cool you work at Athelta. That store has the cutest clothes! And dang girl… 6 miles- you’re killin it! That is so awesome you are going to train for a marathon. Best meal I’ve had this week was probably a whole foods salad! πŸ™‚

    Like

    • lifeofendurance says:

      I love working there! There’s also a great employee discount which is dangerous for me…I’m worried I’ll spend my whole paycheck there! I’m so thankful for my good runs lately, I think the weather just makes me happy. And you can never ever go wrong with Whole Foods! Their hot bar makes me drool.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Kate Bennett says:

    Have you ever been to eat at Busboys and Poets? When I was in the DC area on a trip I ate there and I had a sandwich to remember! It was something with brie. I raved for days over it.

    Like

    • lifeofendurance says:

      Yes, I actually have! It’s been a few years since I ate there but I remember I got some Cajun-style pasta with shrimp that was amazing! That’s definitely an awesome place to go, thanks for reminding me to go back there πŸ™‚ Also, anything with brie is pretty much my favorite.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Kaylee says:

    I started interning this week and am not used to the 9 to 5 schedule so I cant definitely relate to being thrown off! Totally GMTA because I’m having some AB&J for breakfast today!

    Like

Leave a Reply

