Functioning without a “Perfect” Schedule

Hey everyone! Wow, writing has been sporadic these days. I feel like I’m finally starting to settle into a rhythm with my summer. I’ve been home for a few weeks now and it always takes some adjusting for me when coming back from school for a long break.

For example, I always feel really weird at first when I don’t constantly have homework/reading that I have to do. I’ll go to work, and do work when I’m there, but when I come home, home is just home. At school, my dorm room was kind of a catch-all space. I would often eat breakfast there, do yoga there, sleep, watch T.V., read, write papers… now my life is a little more compartmentalized. I love how my room at home is just that: a place where I sleep (and maybe read, watch Netflix, basically relaxing activities).

The biggest challenge so far for me has been figuring out what my new routine, my new normal, is going to be. I still have obligations I have to fulfill, but there are parts of my day that I really like to keep the same from day to day.

I’m someone who craves order and predictability. I love keeping things organized, knowing what’s on the agenda, and having clear, well-laid plans. As I continue to discover, life just doesn’t always work that way. Sometimes (basically 90% of the time) the metro/bus is running late or not running at all, I oversleep by 10 minutes, there is horrible traffic, etc. Realizing I’m not 100% in control ever is humbling, even when I do truly believe everything will work out and that I am well-loved and taken care of by my Creator, my family, and my friends.

Even though I know I’m not really in control of everything, I still strive for a semblance of order in my life. Coming home has been a bit challenging, mostly because in any new environment, the schedule that I crafted so carefully myself doesn’t fit. It’s like trying to put a piece in a puzzle that just won’t go. Because how could my life as a student taking a full schedule of classes compare to being at home with a family, and working 30-40 hours a week?

If I’m being perfectly honest, I’ve been trying to fit myself into a perfectly timed schedule and routine for these past few weeks. And I really haven’t been overly successful at it. Yep, I overslept on Friday. A lot of things lately have been more spur of the moment.

5b3d3d08dfa060be34fe1850911a155e

And what I’m finally realizing is that I’m ready to start accepting it. Yes, I will always desire and strive to keep a semblance of routine. For example, I will go to bed early, wake up early(ish), drink my 2-3 cups of coffee, and put in my full effort at work. But I’m also trying to embrace some of the lack of routine. After a year of self-imposed structure, I’m really enjoying having time to read, and write, and watch Netflix, or go on a longer run just because it’s nice out and I have nowhere I need to be. It’s a good season in my life where there a lot of things I “can do” but don’t “have to.”

I realize this has become a bit of a ramble, but it’s a bit of a necessary brain dump for me. I don’t want to be a slave to a schedule or a routine that doesn’t bring me joy. I was made for more than that, and I want to live fully and joyfully. If “perfection” and “order” are not bringing me joy, how can they be deemed “perfect” and “orderly.”

embrace-the-glorious-mess-that-you-are

At the end of the day, I am functioning, even without a schedule. In the end, I get all the work that needs to get done, done. I eat my meals, even if they aren’t what I planned and aren’t at my usual time. I get to spend time with my siblings and parents and friends. And whether I follow a schedule or not, life is good. So even though I may not be ready for the unexpected, I’m trying to embrace it.

So here’s to functioning, even when I lack a schedule.

Tell me:

Do you adhere to a schedule/routine? 

What do you do/how do you react when your plans go awry?

Any advice/tips on embracing the unexpected/transition seasons of life?

As always, thanks to Julia for organizing the Mental Health Monday link-up. Be sure to check the other submissions!

10 thoughts on “Functioning without a “Perfect” Schedule

  1. Kathleen McAuliffe says:

    “If ‘perfection’ and ‘order’ are not bringing me joy, how can they be deemed perfect and orderly”
    This is really insightful; one person’s perfection is not another’s and no matter often we’re told not to compare, sometimes we need to figure that out through experience. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    • lifeofendurance says:

      Thank you so much Kathleen! I think comparison is almost unavoidable, but comparing without judgment is what I’m trying to do. Instead of seeing what others are doing and thinking it’s good, bad, better, etc. I’m trying to accept it, and then accept what I’m doing, evaluating if it is ideal for me. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  2. Julia @ Drops of Jules says:

    Oh girl, I resonate so much with this. My brother works like a dog throughout the week at his three jobs, but then I see him laze out on Sundays. Even though I know he works so hard, I can’t imagine doing nothing all day! I’m trying to work on this more and more though. Love these thoughts!

    Like

    • lifeofendurance says:

      Yikes that would be tough for me! I’m really starting to like how I’m basically alternating days of intensity with days of quieter productivity. Doing *nothing* is surprisingly difficult, but embracing the busy and not so busy times (so really all times) is a really important part of life, as is me trying and learning to be flexible!

      Like

  3. evolvewithmary says:

    I love that Elizabeth Gilbert quote, I’m am a mess so I should just embrace it. Doing nothing feels like torture to me, even when I’m watching TV I like to do something, drawing, knitting, crafting, it’s impossible for me to sit still and stop. I’ve been working on doing nothing and just relaxing, it feels great to know I’m not the only one that struggles with this.

    Like

    • lifeofendurance says:

      Sitting still is such a struggle for me too! It’s so hard to accept doing nothing and relaxing, but I know it’s so healthy and necessary and it’s going to help me do everything else (that actually requires energy and attention) so much better. You’re definitely not the only one. Have a great week, Mary!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Lyss says:

    I struggled with this so much when I came home from school for the first week. And it was honestly making me so anxious! I’m the type of person who craves structure. I like to have routine and have the same time to relax at the end of the day and get stuff done during the day. I realized that summer doesn’t have to be that way! I have a nice little routine going now with my job and on my days off I try and find time to do more stuff for myself: read, blog, listen to podcasts, etc. 🙂

    Like

    • lifeofendurance says:

      Haha trying to relax actually makes me more anxious half the time! I’m definitely working on changing that, because when I actually relax well I feel so much better. It’s hard for me to function without structure but it’s definitely a learning curve for me to accept and embrace it. Reading, blogging, and podcasts are great! I just started listening to the Runner’s Connect podcast with Tina Muir and I LOVE it! Let me know if you have any podcast suggestions!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. mylittletablespoon says:

    Yes yes YES. I am a month now into my summer being at home – and just now am I realizing that the “schedule” I was trying to adhere to was just NOT working for me and NOT how I want to spend my entire summer. I want to be free with my time and just come home to relax or read or write – but to have the open time to choose what I want to do in the moment. I don’t want to predetermine my entire day so that if I feel like not adhering to my schedule, I then feel “guilty” or miserable if I just make myself do it anyways. I am a big planner and like structure, but I think I’m learning there is a more genuine side of me that wants spontaneity and relaxation.
    Hope you are enjoying time at home, nonetheless!!

    Like

    • lifeofendurance says:

      Oh yes, most definitely agree with everything you’re saying. I think having a schedule and plan can be great, but when I try to adhere to it too closely, it ends up becoming more stressful, rather than simplifying my life. I’m working on spontaneity too, because it’s such an awesome and important part of life and embracing the now can lead to way more interesting memories and experiences than just what feels safe.
      Being home is great, now that I’m figuring out how to actually relax haha!

      Like

Leave a Reply

