WIAW #2: Back Home Eats

Happy Hump Day! We are already halfway through the week, hooray! I’ve basically had this whole week off, which has been lovely after a year of intense schoolwork. I’ve kept myself busy though, mostly unpacking, doing laundry, and getting settled back in at home.

One thing I love about being home is being away from dining hall food. I do have to say that the food at my school is very…average. I’m just not a fan. Maybe it’s because the foodie and cook inside of me knows that I can do better. What ended up happening by the end of the year was that I was eating various sandwiches for about half my meals. And I love sandwiches, but I was more than ready to come home to my mom’s and my own home cooking.

So this WIAW focuses on my first day at home eats! It was so refreshing to be able to go to my (full-sized!!!) fridge and contemplate what I’m really craving for a meal. That’s a privilege I forget about at school, where I’m at the mercy of whatever the dining halls are serving (unidentifiable pork breakfast product, for example. Is it ham, is it leftover sausage? It’s a mystery…).

Linking up with Jenn over at Peas & Crayons and Laura at Sprint 2 the Table for What I Ate Wednesday, a day where we all share our eats, as Jenn says “without comparison – judgment – restriction – guilt” (seriously LOVE this). What I eat works for me, and I loved every bite I took, but some may need to eat more or less, and that’s awesome!  Let’s get started, shall we?

what-i-ate-wednesday-new-button-peas-and-crayons

Breakfast

I woke up pretty hungry, after a day of moving all my belongings that helped me survive for a year (yes, I’m a tad dramatic) from the third floor of my building to the minivan. Sadly, none of the buildings I’ve ever lived in have had elevators. I would say that this has improved my fitness, but that would be a lie. I still manage to be huffing and puffing by the time I get to my room. I’m honestly more winded after the stairs than after a run. How does that make any sense?

I digress, let’s focus on my breakfast again. I wanted eggs! I had two pieces of wheat toast, topped with two fried eggs. One broke in the pan, boo. But it was still delicious anyway. I topped it with some cheddar, and had some turkey sausage links and fruit on the side. Yum, yum, yum! This is definitely a meal to repeat! It satisfied me in every way! Unpictured are the two cups of coffee I had to drink.

Breakfast1WIAW

Snack/Drink 1: I went to the gym and had a great workout a few hours after breakfast. I started with a self-designed workout on the spin bike for about 30 minutes followed by some weightlifting (shoulders, biceps, triceps). I had some awesome music going so the time flew by and I felt awesome afterwards. I ran to Starbucks after because I was craving a hazelnut iced coffee. My craving was satisfied! They also only had the big straws so I looked a little odd with a smallish cup and a biggish straw. I was willing to suffer for such great iced coffee (I kid, I kid).

Snack2WIAW1

Lunch: My mom told me there was some leftover turkey chili in the fridge, and I took full advantage since chili is one of my favorite meals! I topped some lettuce with crushed tortilla chips, turkey chili, cheese, and salsa. It hit the spot!

Lunch1WIAW

Snack 2: I was hungry in the afternoon, and I was in the mood to bake. So I made some awesome oatmeal cranberry white chocolate cookies. Oh so yummy. I used this recipe (Sally is a goddess, just saying). I also had a nice mug of Earl Gray because tea and cookies are meant to be together. Only one is pictured but I ended up having another!

Snack1WIAW1

Dinner: I made my family this ziti bake for dinner. It had ground beef, lots of tomato sauce, and mozzarella aplenty! It’s a crowd pleaser for sure. I had to snap this pic fast (no phones at the dinner table) so I didn’t get to snap the green side salad and slice of baguette I had on the side. I can assure you that I had plentiful helpings of each!

DinnerWIAW1

 

And that’s a wrap! It felt so great to be back home and in my own kitchen, cooking and baking up a storm. Have a fab Wednesday!

What’s the best thing you’ve eaten this past week? 

Favorite pasta dish and favorite cookie?

 

10 thoughts on “WIAW #2: Back Home Eats

  1. Lyss says:

    Don’t you just love being in your own kitchen?! Seriously the best feeling!! That breakfast looks delish. I love eggs with cheese! And that dinner- perfectionnn. The best thing I’ve eaten the past week was probably a chipotle salad or a sweet potato with white chocolate pretzel pb and cinnamon 🙂 Have a great Wednesday girly!

    Like

    • lifeofendurance says:

      I know, it’s so nice to just be able to open the fridge and make a quick meal for myself. It’s something I didn’t realize I’d miss so much when I first went to school. And sweet potatoes with peanut butter!?! My whole family thought I was crazy when I put cinnamon raisin PB on a sweet potato, but it’s seriously SO GOOD! You enjoy your Wednesday too!

      Like

  2. Kaylee says:

    I love having a fully loaded fridge and pantry too. Sometimes I get overwhelmed with all the choices though! I’m so indecisive and I struggle to listen to what my body wants. What’s your go-to workout music? I love that no-phones rule! Wish my family would actually follow it though. 😫

    Like

  3. clusterforked says:

    That ziti bake looks pretty perfect – almost makes me wish I ate meat! Glad you had a good first day back home 🙂 I have to say my personal favourite pasta dish is simply some pappardelle in truffle butter, it’s perfect! However, any pasta is good pasta!

    Like

Leave a Reply

