What I Ate Wednesday #1!

what-i-ate-wednesday-new-button-peas-and-crayons

Hello friends! Hope your week is going well. Today I am excited to debut my very first What I Ate Wednesday! Big thanks to Jenn over at Peas & Crayons for starting the wonderful link up. What I Ate Wednesday is about inspiring curiosity and creativity; not judgment. What I eat works for me and the lifestyle I lead, but it may not be the one that works for you. So no worries for anyone 🙂

 

giphy

It means no worries (source)!

 

Okay now that I’m done making Disney movie references, let’s move on to the eats shall we? Here are my meals from this past Monday! I eat most of my meals in my college’s dining halls, and this past Monday was no different. 

Breakfast! Aka my favorite meal (I think…I really like all of them though…) aka a super important one! On Monday I take breakfast extra seriously, since I have classes from 8am until 1pm. Not only does that require lots of brain food, I also need to nourish myself through an hour and a half dance class!

IMG_0195

I started my day off with some scrambled eggs, turkey sausage links, honeydew melon, and vegan waffles with some syrup drizzled on top. I’m pretty sure there was some chocolate snuck into those waffles, but it was pretty early so that may just have been my imagination.

Lunch. I was pretty hungry when I finally got to break for lunch. I quickly assembled a salad filled with spinach, tomatoes, cucumbers, chicken, and black beans, drizzled with balsamic dressing. I paired it with a cup of chicken chili and a piece of cornbread. I had some unsweetened iced tea to drink!

IMG_0196I realize that this is probably the world’s worst meal photo and I can tell you why for two reasons. A, the hunger was real at this point so I just wanted to dive in. B, my friends are still not used to me taking pictures of what I eat so my attempts to take sneaky photos end up looking something like this…

Snack 1 I did a nice 5.25 mile run. I’ll have to share what I did with ya’ll because it was a run that really tested my endurance! I was hungry afterwards, but had to head out quickly after I showered for tutoring and meetings. I quickly grabbed a handful of this banana nut granola and this tiny apple (it only took a few bites before it was gone)!

 IMG_0197

Dinner! I was ready for a nice substantial dinner by the time 6:00 rolled around. On Mondays, I have sorority meeting so everyone usually ends up eating in the dining hall closest to where we meet. I went with a delicious Caprese sandwich – foccacia bread, pesto, mozzarella, tomatoes, lettuce, and green peppers. For some reason the side soup of clam chowder didn’t make it into the picture, but trust me, I ate it all!

IMG_0198

Snack 2/Dessert: After a long and busy day, I was more than ready to relax a bit. I did a little bit of reading in my bed while listening to music, and eating this awesome Ben & Jerry’s ice cream, “Cake My Day.” It was basically cake batter ice cream with chunks of cake, mixed with generous swirls of butter cream and raspberry sauce. #yum. If I look a little wide-eyed and crazed it’s because this ice cream was so awesome!

IMG_0200

And that’s a wrap! Enjoy your Wednesday!

What was the best thing you’ve eaten this past week?!? Please share!!!

4 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday #1!

    • lifeofendurance says:

      Thanks Kate! Beans are a fave of mine because they keep me full (yay protein!) and I love the contrast of textures when mixed with other things. And haha, yes, I’ve never met a mozzarella or pesto combo that I haven’t loved!

      Like

  1. Aubrey says:

    So wish I could get Cake My Day flavour B&Js in the UK. I am also missing unsweet tea now that spring is here. Looks like a great day of eats for a busy day!

    Like

Leave a Reply

