If the (New!) Shoe Fits…

Hello everyone! Hope your week is going well. I am having a busy one especially as I get back into the swing of things after a week off of spring break. It’s been a little cloudy and humid lately but I’ll take it considering and how warm and wonderful it is to have some spring weather in the air!

Today I’m telling you about my new running shoes. For all you runners out there, I know you understand the importance of finding a great running shoe. I think it can truly make or break your runs. I have the tendency to be very attached to the running gear I use – once as I know and love something it’s hard for me to ever part from it. But sometimes it’s necessary.

So why my rambling on my own attachment to my running shoes? Well, in the almost six years now that I have been running, I have used the exact same shoe (don’t worry I buy a new pair after I’ve gotten lots of mileage out of them). I have worn and loved the Asics Gel Cumulus ever since I started running back during my freshman year of high school. I’ve gone through many pairs since then.

Now, I believe that there is a running shoe that works best for everyone. Actually, probably several different types of shoes that will work best. A lot of runners like to cycle through various pairs of shoes. But, I realized my needs as a runner have changed a lot since I got my first pair of shoes. When I started running, I was doing much less mileage than I am now. As a cross country runner, the longest distance I ever competed in was the 5k. Which is an awesome race and I still enjoy the occasional 5k!

Fast forward to my senior year of high school, when I completed my first half marathon, and today when I’m planning on moving from the half marathon to the full marathon. My old shoes still worked and fit my feet. But they felt heavy and clunky, and my foot felt so static inside them. So I embraced change (trust me not that common for me, haha) and went to a running store and got fitted. I wanted a shoe that felt light and flexible, that made me feel propelled forward. Snug but not too structured. Yes, very specific requests on my part. But I found something that fit the bill!

Drumroll please…enter my new shoeNike Pegasus. I’ve done a few runs in them so far – a longer run, a middle distance, and a speed workout. They are serving me really well so far!

IMG_0177.JPG

Excuse the poor picture quality, but look at that snazzy pink color!

IMG_0172

(Again, sorry for the poor quality) How did my first run in the new shoes go? I think you can judge by my face πŸ˜‰

The moral of my shoe story? Be open to change in your routine! As I look back at my time as a runner, I’m amazed by how much I’ve grown. Five miles used to seem impossible, and now it’s really not that bad! Your needs as a runner are constantly changing – from the food you need after your run, to your fuel during it, and the different types of gear you’re using. Routine is an awesome thing, but recognizing when things are best changed is also really important!

I’m off to get another run in! Hope your Wednesday is a great one!

What type of running shoe(s) do you wear? How long have you been using them?Β 

Leave a Reply

